Visa formalities to enter Indonesia

Visa formalities to enter Indonesia


Visa formalities are not complicated in Indonesia. This is one of the hottest destinations for 2014. The attraction of the country is not only because of Bali but the many beautiful towns, mountains, small villages, natural and cultural riches. No one doubts Bali is in the bucket list of almost any visitor, but travelers are going beyond that beautiful island to discover more. Jakarta is a modern bustling metropolis, with great shopping centers, a tremendous variety of restaurants and hotels ready to please even the most demanding travelers.


There are 11 countries that do not need a tourist visa for a short visit of up to 30 days, these are Brunei, Chile, Hong Kong, Macao, Malaysia, Morocco, Philippines, Peru, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam.


Citizens of 64 countries can obtain a visa on arrival to major airports and seaports. The cost of the visa is 25 USD, valid for up to 30 days, this can be extended for another 30 days paying 25 USD more. The passport should be valid for at least 6 months and traveler should be in possession of a return ticket. Countries that can obtain a visa on arrival are Argentina, Australia, Austria, Algeria, Bahrain, Belgium, Brazil, Bulgaria, , Cambodia, Canada, Cyprus, China, Denmark, Estonia, Egypt, Fiji, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, India, Iceland, Iran, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Kuwait, Laos, Latvia, Libya, Lithuania, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Maldives, Malta, Mexico, Monaco, New Zealand, Netherlands, Norway, Oman, Panama, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Romania, Russia, Saudi Arabia, Slovak Republic, Slovenia, Spain, , , Suriname, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan PRC, Timor Leste, Tunisia, Turkey, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom (British), United States of America.



Indonesia’s diplomatic missions offer single and multiple entry visas valid for six months with stays of up to 60 days. One has to submit the passport valid for at least six months, with a photocopy of the itinerary and proof of funds. The fee for a single entry visa is 45 USD and for a multiple entry is 60 USD. There are certain areas with restrictions these are Poso and Irian Jaya/West Papua, to visit these places one needs a special permission, but there are not very frequented by tourists.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.